Add Bookmark


Fire, Water, Air, Earth

Fire, Water, Air, Earth

Not only our planet, but also the entire universe is formed from material particles in the act of Elements. It is just the dissimilarity of the elements to which we owe many thanks for the diversity of the world we live in. However, all things visible and invisible originate from only one source of life. That is why recognition of the four faces of all-including unity, out of which the elements arose, enables man to develop spiritual consciousness and become aware of this unity.

Fire, water, air and earth as we commonly know them are but outwardly manifested forms of the Elements themselves. Their manifestations are as follows: the element of water has magnetic properties; it nurtures and sustains. The element of fire has electrical and creative properties. Air is a detaching element and enables co-existence of the two main elements, fire and water. The element of earth binds fire, water and air in various proportions, which makes possible the formation of materials with different properties.

To better understand the operation of the elements, let us see how it works in practice. For illustration, the roots of a tree absorb water and minerals necessary for growth from earth (the elements of water and earth). The tree breathes through its leaves (the element of air) and receives light and warmth from sunbeams (the element of fire). If you set the wood of a tree on fire, the elements would be released from it. The water will evaporate, the light that has shone on the tree for many long years will burn out in a mighty flame, the oxygen the tree has been “breathing out” will enable this energy process of burning and nutrients from the soil will turn into ash, which will again serve as a source of minerals for other forms of life.

The human organism also contains all four elements. Disruption of the delicate harmony of elements in the human body gives rise to diseases, especially by abusing the energy of elements or by blocking it. However, it is not our target to try to sustain this harmony at the material level, but at the spiritual level. Because what we see on the outside is always only a manifestation of the spiritual.

The elements that form the material world are also included in man’s character. According to which element predominates in him, he can have a choleric, sanguine, melancholic or phlegmatic nature. In human interaction, each of these natures is important, because it enables to “see a matter” from all sides and considering all aspects of a performed activity enables mankind to get their works closer to perfection. In fact, there are twelve human natures, which are a mix of the four elements in various proportions and you know them as the twelve signs of the Zodiac. Interaction of the two main elements can also be found in the union of male and female, where the man by nature of his being contributes to the relationship the creative powers of fire, whereas the woman contributes the sustaining powers of the element of water, forming a necessary foundation for the active operation of the man.

Each of the four elements is inherently neutral and is neither good nor bad. It is man who gives to the acting of the elements a good or bad character. But, in order not to get stuck in theory, even though correct knowledge is also important for the spiritual development of man, we will look at both positive and negative character qualities that man can develop within himself.

Reading the individual qualities you may get the feeling that you lack many character traits of the element that predominates in you or you may even find in yourself many traits from the other elements. It depends on how developed you are as a human spirit and how many qualities you have already developed through experience. Or in other words: some bring forth thirty-fold, some sixty-fold and some one hundred-fold crop. All, however, must reach perfection by transforming all the negative qualities into positive qualities.

The element of fire (choleric)

Positive qualities: vigorousness, zeal, enthusiasm, courage, decisiveness, power of creativity, daring, sedulity...

Negative qualities: quarrelsomeness, irritability, urge to destroy everything, passion, immoderacy, jealousy, voraciousness, vindictiveness, violence, hate, anger, sudden ebullition...

The element of air (sanguine)

Positive qualities: vigilance, care-freedom, kind-heartedness, trusting nature, clarity, lightness, independency, dexterity, optimism, diligence, acuity, joy, smiling...

Negative qualities: lack of perseverance, dishonesty, gossipy, cunningness, backbiting, garrulousness, inconstancy, touchiness, prodigality...

The element of water (phlegmatic)

Positive qualities: understanding, placidity, mildness, trusting nature, devotion, mercy, forgiveness, modesty, compassion, fervour, pliancy, meditativeness, internalization...

Negative qualities: indifference, heartlessness, laziness, indolence, rigidity, lack of daring, lack of concern, unstableness, dejection...

The element of earth (melancholic)

Positive qualities: consistency, conscientiousness, perseverance, punctuality, caution, resistance, responsibility, carefulness, firmness, reliability, sobriety, ambition, respectfulness, matter-of-factness...

Negative qualities: stuffiness, superficiality, laziness, indifference, cumbersomeness, touchiness, lack of conscientiousness, irregularity, timidity, scornfulness...

Everyone has a free choice, but also responsibility to decide how to use the power of the elements and which qualities we develop in our character. But if we still have untransformed negative traits in our characters, then do not wonder if we do not do well in some areas of our life, or if you cannot soar towards the longed-for Light after death of your physical vessel.


Up Contents Home
from 1.1.2007 0 visitors